The Humor Mill

The American Black Film Festival Names Semi-Finalists Of Their Comedy Wings Competition!

Comedy News

Comedy WingsEarlier this year, ABFF announced the launch of The Comedy Wings competition.  The Comedy Wings Competition was created to showcase talented yet undiscovered comedians and introduce them to the industry at large. The competition seeks to find someone with a natural gift for comedy who can make us laugh through their unique interpretation of material, steered by physical mannerisms, vocal inflections, wit and effortless comedic timing.

Today, The American Black Film Festival (ABFF) has announced the names of the semi-finalists of the ABFF Comedy Wings competition.

They are;


Zainab Johnson


Rainer Pollard


Marion Kendrick


Trev Houston


Matt White


Joyell Johnson


Mike Head

Lydia Robinson

Lydia Robinson


Brian Doby

 On April 21, there will be a Semifinals Competition at the COMEDY STORE in West Hollywood.  This semifinals competition at the Comedy Store will be hosted by comedian Guy Torry.  Judges will include Def Comedy Jam Producer Bob Sumner (Laff Mobb), actors Anthony Anderson and Brely Evans and talent  executives from networks including HBO, NBCUniversal, Comedy Central and Nickelodeon.

During the event at the COMEDY STORE, 4 finalists will be selected out of 9 semi-finalists, to go to Miami for the Competition Finals – sponsored by HBO.

Judges for the Semifinals event will be among the industry’s top comics and network executives. 

Jeff Friday, Founder and CEO of ABFF states, “The American Black Film Festival aims to provide artists with a platform to showcase their talent.  With this mission in mind, we were excited to find a diversity of undiscovered comedic talent, from all across the country, who have not yet made it to Hollywood.”  Adding, “It is our hope that the success of Comedy Wings will lead to broadcast opportunities and the discovery of future comedy legends.”

Tickets are $10 in advance and $20 at the door. 

On sale now at

Brian     Doby                     Topeka                 KN

Michael Head                    Cleveland           OH

Trev       Houston               Bronx    NY

Joyelle Johnson               Brooklyn              NY

Zainab  Johnson               New York            NY

Marion Kendrick              Jackson                MS

Raneir   Pollard                 Los Angeles        CA

Lydia     Robinson             Washington       DC

Matt      White                   Greenville          NC

Leave a comment below and follow us on Twitter @thehumormill!

About author / Humor Mill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

our member

Consectetur adipiscing elit. Donec pellentesque venenatis elit, quis aliquet mauris malesuada vel. Donec vitae libero dolor, eget dapibus justo. Aenean facilisis aliquet feugiat. Suspendisse lacinia congue est ac semper. Nulla ut elit magna, vitae volutpat magna.

happy customers say



%d bloggers like this: